Operating Under the Influence of Liquor (OUIL)
In the state of Michigan, your BAC or blood alcohol content does not need to be above the state's legal limit of 0.08 percent for you to be convicted of operating under the influence of liquor. Even if your BAC was lower than the legal limit at the time of your arrest, all that has to be proven by police is that alcohol impaired your ability to safely operate a vehicle. Lansing DUI defense attorney Nicholas Leydorf has the skill and experience necessary to secure your desired outcome, and understands how to develop a solid, aggressive defense strategy to protect your freedom and help you avoid harsh criminal penalties.
Having successfully defended clients accused of OUIL throughout the state, Nicholas Leydorf knows what it takes to help ensure clients avoid jail time, driver's license sanctions, steep fines, and other penalties associated with a DUI conviction.Drunk Driving Charge of Operating Under the Influence of Liquor in Lansing
In Michigan, the legal blood alcohol content for motorists age 21 and over is 0.08%. However, the legal limit is 0.04% for commercial drivers. Regardless, you may be charged with OUIL when your blood alcohol content is determined to be less than the legal limit. In fact, you could face criminal charges if you have even the slightest trace of alcohol in your body if police can prove that your ability to operate a vehicle in a safe manner was impacted by consuming liquor or an alcoholic beverage.
When arrested for OUIL, it can be not only stressful, but a frightening proposition. What will you face, and is your freedom in jeopardy? Ingham County DUI defense lawyer Nick Leydorf will provide the support and guidance you deserve throughout each phase of the criminal process, working one-on-one with you to determine the best legal strategy to ensure your future and freedom are protected.Criminal Penalties for OUIL in Michigan
Individuals who are convicted of OUIL face harsh criminal penalties. You will likely be formally charged with operating while intoxicated, also referred to as OWI. First-time offenders will face penalties which include a maximum of 93 days in jail, driver's license suspension for 180 days, fines of up to $500, and possibly vehicle immobilization and community service.
A second or third conviction for operating while under the influence of liquor will result in criminal penalties which are even more serious and include increased jail time and fines. A third OWI is considered a felony offense in Michigan. Our firm will advise you of the criminal penalties, answer questions you may have, and discuss the best approach to reach positive results. As a trusted and capable criminal defense attorney in East Lansing, Nicholas Leydorf believes in taking a comprehensive approach, always keeping clients informed and dedicated to providing you with an exceptional defense.Contact Lansing OUIL Defense Lawyer Nicholas Leydorf Now
At The Leydorf Law Firm, protecting our clients' freedom and legal rights is top priority. If you have been arrested or charged with operating under the influence of liquor while having a BAC lower than the state's legal limit of 0.08%, take action immediately. We will work vigorously to protect you from jail time, driver's license sanctions, and other penalties which can negatively affect your career, reputation, and freedom. Contact our office today at (517)388-6800.