OWI Operating While Intoxicated
In Michigan, harsh criminal penalties may apply for individuals who operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and are charged with OWI, or operating while intoxicated. An arrest does not necessarily mean you will be convicted; in fact, Lansing and Ingham County residents are often wrongfully convicted. This can often be attributed to flaws in field sobriety or breath/blood tests, or even police/prosecutors who are overzealous in their efforts to secure a conviction. Your rights may be violated in the process of an arrest as well, so it is critical to consult with an experienced Lansing OWI defense attorney as soon as possible. At the Leydorf Law Firm we provide vigorous legal guidance and representation for those arrested or charged with a drunk driving offense.Michigan DUI Defense Lawyer
Even a first offense is serious and could leave you facing jail time, substantial fines, driver's license suspension or revocation, community service, and other criminal penalties if convicted. It is vital to have a DUI defense attorney on your side who is thoroughly familiar with blood alcohol content testing, proper arrest procedures, and other legal issues and factors that may affect the outcome of your DUI case.Misdemeanor and Felony OWI Charges in Michigan
The legal BAC (blood alcohol content) in Michigan is 0.08%. Any level above that may leave you facing charges of operating while intoxicated. First and second offenses are considered misdemeanors in the state; a third OWI will leave you facing felony charges. Misdemeanor offenses typically carry criminal penalties which are less severe than with a felony offense, however the penalties are still harsh.
Michigan also has a "Super Drunk" law which results in increased penalties for those convicted of driving with a BAC higher than 0.17%.Criminal Penalties for OWI/DUI
At the Leydorf Law Firm, our Lansing DUI defense lawyers have the skill, experience, and dedicated approach necessary to successfully fight charges of operating while intoxicated. Whether you are charged with a misdemeanor or felony offense, we urge you to contact us now for the best possible outcome. The Michigan Vehicle Code outlines penalties for DUI, which are as follows:
First offense OWI/DUI (misdemeanor): Fines of up to $500, maximum of 93 days in jail, drivers license suspension 180 days, community service, vehicle immobilization, and more.
Second offense OWI/DUI (misdemeanor): Fines of up to $1,000, maximum of one year in jail, drivers license revocation for up to one year, community service, vehicle immobilization, and more.
Third offense OWI/DUI (felony): Fines of up to $5,000, maximum of five years in prison, drivers license revoked for five years or more, community service, vehicle immobilization, possible probation, and more.Attorney Defending Clients Facing OWI Charges in Lansing, East Lansing, and Ingham County
Police make mistakes; breath and blood tests are not always accurate. Equipment used in blood/breath testing procedures may not be properly calibrated. In addition, your legal rights may have been violated or procedural mistakes made. Nicholas Leydorf is a highly trusted Lansing criminal defense attorney who is highly capable in the area of DUI and will fight relentlessly in order to reach your desired outcome.
Your career, freedom, and future are at stake when facing charges of OWI in Michigan. Take the first step in protecting your future by contacting the Leydorf Law Firm today at (517)388-6800.